Anchored on its mission to nurture tomorrow’s artists, Pilipinas Shell’s National Students Art Competition (NSAC) held its 54th run this year. Driven by the theme, “restART,” the annual competition encourages young artists to come up with inspiring works of art that contribute to a stronger nation.

Furthermore, this year also sees the introduction of Juan Art Nation, a movement that aims to broaden programs for our growing community of artists. Held on December 10, 2021, the 54th NSAC concluded with an awarding ceremony , with 1,800 entries exceeding last year’s 1,500 entries.

For her part, Country Chair of Shell Companies in the Philippines Lorelie Quiambao Osial was quick to congratulate all of the competition’s participants. “The pandemic has affected every aspect of our lives and yet there was a strength of spirit inside you that shone through. We see it mostly in your art and that is what we are recognizing today. As we look forward to recovery, we believe that art can spark change and progress.”

Department of Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo Puyat also echoed Quiambao-Osial’s encouraging words, saying that she’s “always looked forward to this event.” “Shell NSAC is a competition that has always understood that art and artists have an important part to play in nation-building. The value of art is that it enables us to engage with issues of our time.”

Of the many spellbinding masterpieces that were submitted from all over the country, three winners emerged from four different categories—Digital Fine Arts, Sculpture, Watercolor, and Oil and Acrylic.

 The following are the winners and their respective schools:

Sculpture Winners:

  • 1st Place: Maica Rozel Borlagdan
  • 2nd Place: Mark Eclipse
  • 3rd Place: Zoe Manigan

Oil and Acrylic Winners:

  • 1st Place: Jaren Dahan
  • 2nd Place: Ranier Angelo Bolivar
  • 3rd Place: Gyles Maverick Abac

Watercolor Winners:

  • 1st Place: Ranier Angelo Bolivar
  • 2nd Place: Patricia Serrano
  • 3rd Place: Eloiza Judilla

Digital Fine Arts Winners:

  • 1st Place: Gerard Lynn Mara Santos
  • 2nd Place: Mary Franz Salazar
  • 3rd Place: Ralph Enzo Rabaya

For updates on the virtual gallery, please follow Shell Philippines’ social media pages and website.