For the 55th Shell National Students Art Competition (NSAC), we challenged student artists to channel their voices and messages into their craft. The theme ‘Sulong Sining’ called on the students to lead the charge forward through art and use their creativity to inspire the nation.

We received more than a thousand entries for the competition from talented artists across the country. To select the winning works, we tapped seasoned artists who are experts in the field, namely: Nemi Miranda, Edgar Doctor, and Edgar “Egai” Talusan Fernandez for the Digital Fine Arts Category; Daniel Dela Cruz, Jan Leeroy New, and Carlo De Laza for the Oil and Acrylic Category; John Tence Ruiz, Pablo Biglang-Awa Jr., and Victor Balanon for the Sculpture Category; and Francis ‘Isko’ Andrade, Ronald Ventura, and Rolando Ventura for the Watercolor Category.

On December 7, 2022, Shell NSAC’s culminating event was held at The Ayala Museum where the winning works were recognized and publicly showcased for the first time. The event was opened to a limited number of attendees. Esteemed guests were present at the event to inspire the guests and speak on the importance of art for society and progress.

The winning artists per category are as follows:

Digital Fine Arts

  • 1st place: Earl Marie Pabinguit from Cebu Technological University
  • 2nd place: Louise Gabrielle Abing from Mindanao State University General Santos
  • 3rd place: Xymon Cadric Calayag from EARIST


  • 1st place: Densen James Almeda from University of the Philippines Cebu
  • 2nd place: Marko Sarmiento from Polytechnic University of the Philippines
  • 3rd place: Clark Myer Arquio from University of the Philippines Cebu


  • 1st place: Merlo Mahinay from University of the Philippines Diliman
  • 2nd place: Luke Eidref Agapito Berja from Polytechnic University of the Philippines
  • 3rd place: John Romer Pavilando from Tarlac State University


  • 1st place: John Michael Flores Ramos from Tarlac State University
  • 2nd place: Shara Mae Chan from De La Salle University
  • 3rd place: Kaila Mae Faustor from Polytechnic University of the Philippines

You may show your support to the young artists by purchasing these artworks. You may find the buyer’s guide below to find out more.

For updates on the virtual gallery, please follow Shell’s social media pages and website.