Serge Bernal, Pilipinas Shell’s Vice President for Corporate Relations, acknowledged the students’ “tenacity and eagerness to be part of the movement for a better world.” He said that the artworks evoke “hope, courage, and optimism, which is what we really need in times like these.” He thanked the artists for giving their efforts and creative juices in keeping Shell NSAC alive despite the challenges that the pandemic has brought to the art world.

National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Chairperson Rene R. Escalante commended all the artists, saying, “Putting your art out there for everyone to see takes courage… [which is] a value we want for every Filipino artist.” He also recognized NSAC as Shell’s “contribution to nation-building which empowers the young artists of tomorrow.”

Ayala Museum Director Mariles Gustilo lauded NSAC’s “Sulong Sining” theme for its “timely message about charging forward through art to lead the nation to a better, brighter future. This theme fits what we are valiantly pursuing today in the aftermath of the pandemic: we persistently and consistently forge great paths ahead. NSAC has not only showcased the youth’s artistic prowess but reaches new generations through Filipino art.”

Dennis Marasigan, Vice President and Artistic Director of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), also pointed out art’s “supreme function: making our lives better than we live it … Without art, mankind could not exist.” He also encouraged all the artists, “Always stay optimistic for our country for the trials ahead. Let us all make good art, and make it an expression of who we are and what we believe in.”

The first-place winners in all categories were awarded P60,000 each, while the second-place winners and third-place winners individually received P40,000 and P30,000 respectively.

The following are the NSAC Awardees per category:

Seasoned, prominent artists served as the Shell NSAC judges, namely: Nemi Miranda, Edgar Doctor, and Edgar “Egai” Talusan Fernandez for the Watercolor Category; Francis ‘Isko’ Andrade, Ronald Ventura, and Rolando Ventura for the Oil and Acrylic Category; Daniel Dela Cruz, Jan Leeroy New, and Carlo De Laza for the Sculpture Category; and Jose Tence Ruiz, Pablo Biglang-Awa Jr., and Victor Balanon for the Digital Fine Arts category.

The 55th Shell NSAC was sponsored by Bakuna Hero Health and Medical Services, McDonald's, Grab, and Phirst Park Homes Inc.

Partners such as Anima Art Space, Art Elaan Gallery, Ayala Museum, Blanco Family art Museum, Iloilo Museum for Contemporary Art, Modeka Creative Space, Museo Iloilo, Orange Project, Stuart Gallery, and The Kabilin Center of the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc., helped make the 55th Shell NSAC possible.

To learn more about future Shell NSAC and related events, please visit:

Pilipinas Shell’s 55th National Students Art Competition showcases the spirit of the theme of ‘Sulong Sining’, which means a charge towards a brighter and better tomorrow with the use of art.

Top row (L-R): Jonathan Juanillo, SP Advisor for Downstream PH, Shell Pilipinas Corporation; Conrado Parizal, Country Social Performance (SP) & Social Investment (SI) Manager and Corporate Relations Advisor, Shell Pilipinas Corporation; Serge Bernal, Vice President for Corporation Relations, Shell Pilipinas Corporation; Nemi Miranda, Judge, Watercolor; Carlo De Laza, Judge, Sculpture; Daniel Dela Cruz, Judge, Sculpture; Francis “Isko” Andrade, Screener, Oil/Acrylic; Hyacinth Laoke, Screener, DFA; Roland “Olan” Ventura, Judge, Oil/Acrylic; Edgar “Egai” Talusan Fernandez, Judge, Watercolor; Ronald Ventura, Judge, Oil/Acrylic; Dennis Marasigan, Vice President and Artistic Director of the Cultural Center of the Philippines; Jonathan Joven, Screener, Oil/Acrylic, Watercolor, Sculpture; and Thomas Daquiaog, Screener, Oil/Acrylic, Watercolor, Sculpture.

Middle row (L-R): Shara Mae Chan, 2 nd place, Watercolor; John Michael Flores Ramos, 1 st Place, Watercolor; John Romer Pavilando, 3 rd place, Sculpture; Mherlo Mahinay, 1st place, Sculpture; Marko Sarmiento, 2nd place, Oil/Acrylic; Luke Eidref Agapito Berja, 2nd place, Sculpture; Densen James Almeda, 1 st place, Oil/Acrylic; Earl Marie Pabinguit, 1st place, Digital Fine Arts; Clark Myer Arquio, 3rd place, Oil/Acrylic; Xymon Cadric Calayag, 3rd place, Digital Fine Arts; Louise Gabrielle Abing, 2nd place, Digital Fine Arts; and Khaila Mae Faustor, 3rd place, Watercolor; and Rodel Fesariton, Finalist, Oil/Acrylic.

Bottom row (L-R): Mark Francis Abaigar, Finalist, Oil and Acrylic; John Aaron; Regino Abiño Jr., Finalist, Sculpture; Paolo Felices, FInalist, Sculpture; Justin Golloso, Finalist, Watercolor; John Harvey Camay, Finalist, Digital Fine Arts; Pamela Paula Maceda, Finalist, Oil/Acrylic; Aaron Ivan Manubay, Finalist, Sculpture; John Clister Santos, Finalist, Digital Fine Arts; Carl Angelo Salva, Finalist, Digital Fine Arts; Romeo Nungay III, Finalist, Watercolor; and Aaron Claude Iñosa, Finalist, Sculpture.



Bright Ideas in Action

The world needs new ways to generate and use cleaner energy. More than that, it needs initiatives and projects that can help improve access to these sources of energy. Achieving this will require more than one technology or one person – it will take many working together.

The 52ⁿᵈ Shell National Students Art Competition

As the organizers of one of the longest-running art competitions in the Philippines, Pilipinas Shell has hoped to continue its legacy of recognizing and driving artists to excel, just like the many artists who started their careers with Shell NSAC.

Making the Children’s Future Better

Shell’s most important stakeholders are its youngest ones. That’s why we needed to learn more about how they feel about energy.