Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Press Releases

RTU Scholar Bags Shell Active Chess National Juniors Crown

Richelieu Salcedo III (front row, middle) of Rizal Technological University seized the national Juniors division championship crown in the recently concluded 18th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship (Shell Active Chess) held at the Event Center of SM Megamall in Mandaluyong City.
Juniors Division Winners

A native of Cagayan de Oro City, Salcedo III defended his championship title from the Southern Luzon Leg in Naga down to the national finals who finished in a two-way tie for the top spot with Davao’s pride Jerwell Andoy (front row, right) with 7 points but earned the title by virtue of win-over-the-other tiebreak. Aside from trophies, Salcedo III and 1st runner up Andoy took home Php30,000 and Php20,000 cash prizes, respectively.

Andoy was followed by Far Eastern University (FEU) athlete scholar Sheider Nebato (front row, left), capping a score of 6 points and 52 Bucholz points and pocketed Php15,000 cash prize and a trophy.

Other runners up were (not in photo) FEU scholar Alfred Rapanot and De La Salle University’s Mari Joseph Turqueza who also took home cash prizes.

Prizes were handed over by (left-right): Pilipinas Shell Government and Media Relations Manager Mich Cruz, Asia’s First Grandmaster Eugene Torre, and Grandmaster Wesley So.

Shell Active Chess is an annual programme of Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation which supports the empowerment of the Filipino youth, in line with the company’s commitment to sustainable development. It is sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, and supported by Shell V-Power, Shellane, Shell Helix, and McDonald's, in partnership with SM Megamall, SM Supermalls, Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao, Central Philippine University Iloilo, University of San Carlos Cebu, and Cagayan de Oro City Tourism.