Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Press Releases

Shell Active Chess Mindanao (Cagayan De Oro) Leg Ceremonial Move

Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation Sustainable Development Manager Ronald Suarez (standing, right) and Cagayan de Oro City Vice Mayor Caesar Ian Acenas (standing, left) in a handshake after making the ceremonial move to formally open the recently concluded 18th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship (Shell Active Chess) Mindanao leg in Cagayan de Oro City Tourism Hall.
Ceremonial Move

Witnessing the ceremonial move are (standing, left to right): Arbiter Lynde Salgados, Chief Arbiter Gene Poliarco, Shell Retail Territory Manager for Cagayan de Oro and Bukidnon Tabbee Bagadion, Brgy. Chairman Jaime Joshua Frias II, Shell Cagayan de Oro Depot Manager Jun Abina, and Shell Active Chess Tournament Director Alex Dinoy.

Felix Shaun Balbona of University of San Jose – Recoletos (Cebu) led the Kiddies division with a score of 8.5 pts and 54.5 Bucholz, while Jerwell Andoy of Jose Maria College - Davao finished strong in the Juniors division with a score of 7.5 points and 44.5 Bucholz.

Shell Active Chess is a programme of Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation which supports the empowerment of the Filipino youth, in line with the company’s commitment to sustainable development. It is sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, and supported by Shell V-Power, Shellane, Shell Helix, and McDonald's, in partnership with SM Megamall, SM Supermalls, Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao, Central Philippine University Iloilo, University of San Carlos Cebu, and Cagayan de Oro City Tourism.