Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Press Releases

Pilipinas Shell Announces SNYACC Western Visayas Leg Juniors Division Winners

Douglas Diego Perez (front row, middle) of John B. Lacson Colleges Foundation - Bacolod outwitted the Juniors division squad during the recently concluded 18th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship Western Visayas Leg at Central Philippine University - Iloilo gymnasium. Perez garnered a score of 7.5 points and 41.5 Bucholz points.
SNYACC Iloilo Juniors

Sharing the score of 7 points were Michael Ocido (front row, left) of West Negros University - Bacolod and John Michael Silvederio (front row, right) of Central Philippine University - Iloilo occupying Juniors’ first and second runner up spots respectively. Ocido and Silvederio will join Perez in the grand finals happening on October 23-24 at SM Megamall.

Each winner from the respective divisions received a cash prize, while the finalists, also took home trophies aside from cash prizes which were handed over by (back row, left to right) Iloilo Provincial Administrator Dr. Raul Banias, Shell Iloilo Dealer Winston Santos, and Pilipinas Shell Lapus, Iloilo Terminal Manager Dante Gandionco.

Shell Active Chess is an annual programme of Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation which supports the empowerment of the Filipino youth, in line with the company’s commitment to sustainable development. It is sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, and supported by Shell V-Power, Shellane, Shell Helix, and McDonald's, in partnership with SM Supermalls, Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao, Central Philippine University Iloilo, University of San Carlos Cebu, and Cagayan de Oro City Tourism.