Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Press Releases

SNYACC – Naga Winners

Former Far Eastern University (FEU) student Jose Carlo Castro and Rizal Technological University’s (RTU) Richelieu Salcedo III emerged as leg champions in the Kiddies and Juniors division respectively during the recently concluded 18th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship Southern Luzon Leg at SM City Naga.
SNYACC - Naga Winners

Castro (seated, middle) finished strong with a score of 8.5 points and 52.5 Bucholz. Dave Mar Prado (seated, right) of First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities – Tanauan City won 1st runner- up with 8 points and 55.5 Bucholz, while Jhoemar Mendiogarin (front row, left) of Banlic Elementary School - Laguna settled for 2nd runner- up with 8 points and 55 Bucholz.

Salcedo III (back row, middle) toppled other players in the Juniors division with a score of 7 pts and 42 Bucholz. FEU’s Lennon Hart Salgados (back row, 4th from left) was the first runner up with 7 points and 41.5 Bucholz. Also from RTU was Kritz Albelar (back row, 2nd from right) who scored 6.5 points and 38.5 Bucholz as the second runner up. All 6 leg winners earned seats to compete in the grand finals.

Each winner from the respective divisions received a cash prize, while the six finalists, also took home trophies aside from cash prizes which were handed over by (from far left) Shell Sustainable Development Manager Ronald Suarez, Shell Dealers Aurora Villaroya and Melrose Macandog, (from far right) Shell Pasacao Terminal Supervisor Bernie Marco, Shell Business and Corporate Communications Manager Sankie Simbulan, and Naga City Councilor Babeth Lavadia.

Shell Active Chess is an annual programme of Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation which supports the empowerment of the Filipino youth, in line with the company’s commitment to sustainable development. It is sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, and supported by Shell V-Power, Shellane, Shell Helix, and McDonald's, in partnership with SM Supermalls, Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao, Central Philippine University Iloilo, University of San Carlos Cebu, and Cagayan de Oro City Tourism.