Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Press Releases

SNYACC Northern Luzon Leg Ceremonial Move

Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation Sustainable Development Manager Ronald Suarez (seated, right) and Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao President Dr. Victor Perez (seated, left) make a ceremonial move to formally open the recently concluded 18th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship (Shell Active Chess) Northern Luzon Leg in Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao gymnasium. Witnessing the ceremonial move are (standing, left to right) Shell Active Chess staff Bernie Castro, Shell Active Chess Tournament Director Alex Dinoy, Chief Arbiter Gene Poliarco, Shell Active Chess Arbiters Linar Agustin and Roy Madayag.

Vince Angelo Medina of FEU-FERN and 2009 Shell Active Chess national champion in Kiddies division emerged as the leg champion as he toppled other players in the Juniors division with a score of 7.5 pts and 45.5 Bucholz, while Stephen Rome Pangilinan of Christian Ecclesiastical School - Bulacan finished strong in the Kiddies division with a perfect score of 9 points and 54.5 Bucholz. Seven-year old Pangilinan also clinched the Top 8-year old special award.

Shell Active Chess is a programme of Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation which supports the empowerment of the Filipino youth, in line with the company’s commitment to sustainable development. It is sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, and supported by Shell V-Power, Shellane, Shell Helix, and McDonald's, in partnership with SM Megamall, SM Supermalls, Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao, Central Philippine University Iloilo, University of San Carlos Cebu, and Cagayan de Oro City Tourism.