The six outstanding firefighters were chosen from among twenty-five candidates from the BFP, and who, after a rigorous screening process, were selected by a multi-sectoral panel composed of representatives from the government and private sector based on their moral values, interpersonal and community relations and professional performance.

The Outstanding Firefighters are as follows: Supt. Romel Tradio (Region 4-A), CInsp. Rodrigo Reyes (National Capital Region), Sr. Insp. Lowyn Amoyar (Region 12), Insp. Josephus Alburo (Region 7), SFO3 Norberto Francisco Matienzo (Region 4-A), and SFO3 Eugenio Sarbida (Region 12).

“Shell celebrates the bravery and heroism of outstanding firemen, brave individuals who make sacrifices for communities, through a sustainable partnership with the BFP, which aims to give recognition and assistance to the firemen and their families,” said Arsenio Isidro, Shell Health, Safety, Security and Environment Manager and this year’s Committee Chairman of the Search for Outstanding Firefighters.

The awarding ceremonies coincided with the BFP’s 20th Anniversary celebration last August 2, 2011. Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo led in honouring the valiant men and women of the BFP for their committed fire service dedication to the Filipino people. He likewise thanked Shell and SOPI as its private sector partners in motivating firemen to excel in their profession through recognition programs such as the search for outstanding firefighters.

“We couldn’t have done better this year than the previous years if only we confine ourselves to what the local government and the national government can do kaya maraming salamat sa ating mga kapartner…sila po ang nagbibigay halaga sa ating gawain. Wala pong ibang paraan ng pagpapasalamat kundi ang mas maglingkod pa ng mas mahusay (We thank our partners for giving recognition to our work. There is no better way to thank them but to serve even better.),” said Secretary Robredo as he rallied the BFP to produce more outstanding firefighters in the coming years.

Among the roster of awardees is Chief Inspector Rodrigo Reyes, City Fire Marshall of Malabon City, whose work as a firefighter extended towards community service through initiatives aimed at enabling citizens to be responsible for fire safety, such as the ‘Batang Bumbero’ (Kiddie Firefighter) fire safety awareness program for children and the road fire patroller project for pedicab and taxi drivers.

“We are grateful for this recognition. I hope that my fellow firefighters will also be inspired to always serve the country better,” said Chief Inspector Reyes.

The annual nationwide search for Outstanding Firefighters was organized by the Safety Organization of the Philippines and has been supported by Shell since 2008.


Mylene M. Santos
Communications Manager
Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation
Tel. 63.2.8146087
Fax 63.2.8166153