The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) launched the Shell Centennial Commemorative Stamps in recognition of Shell’s 100 year presence in the country. PHLPost officially issued the stamps on December 13, 2014 (12.13.14), specially chosen as this only happens once in a lifetime.

Shell companies in the Philippines (SciP) Country Chairman Edgar Chua and PHLPost PostMaster General Josefina Dela Cruz unveiled the stamp design featuring Shell’s Tabangao Refinery during the 1960s, Shell’s Retail Station during the 1930s, and current images of the Shell Tabangao Refinery and Shell Retail Station. 

“We believe that the Shell centennial Commemorative Stamps are among our most beautiful stamp production so far. Behind the stamp is the story of the enduring strength and perseverance of this company, to which we are very proud to have been a part of," said PHLPost PostMaster General (PMG) Josefina Dela Cruz.

According to PHLPost PMG Dela Cruz, Shell’s 100th year commemorative stamps were embellished with the combination of several innovations in stamp design and production. Shell’s commemorative stamps were the first to make use of gold foil hot stamping. It's embellishment is tactile sand varnish on the pecten and Shell Centennial logo, which allows the individual to feel and touch the actual texture of the stamp. Likewise, the size is 50mm by 30.5 mm, which is bigger than ordinary-sized stamps. Apart from these, Shell is the first in its industry to have PHLPost’s specially embellished stamps.

“We are honored and privileged to have the Philippine Postal Corporation print commemorative stamps recognizing Shell’s contribution to the country. Having that privilege, we are now part of the culture and history of the country," said SciP Country Chairman Edgar Chua. “On behalf of the men and women of Shell companies in the Philippines (SciP), I would like to thank PHLPost for being our partner in this momentous celebration; we look forward to Shell’s another 100 years as we will continue to be a major contributor in the country’s growth and development.” 

SciP Country Chairman Edgar Chua and PHLPost Postmaster General Dela Cruz unveiled the stamps on December 12, 2014 at Shell House Makati City, witnessed by Shell officials, PHLPost Philatelic Team and members of the Philatelic Society who joined the turnover ceremonies.  The ceremonial cancellation and official signing of the first day covers were also held, officially marking the stamps availability and release on December 13, 2014. 

PHLPost printed about 114,000 copies of the Shell Centennial Commemorative Stamps in Php25.00 denomination. The  stamps issued on December 13, 2014 is available until December 14, 2015 at the Post Shop, Philately and Museum Division, Manila Post Offices, all regional Offices of PHLPost, and in 190 postal administration offices worldwide.  

PHLPost's issuance of the Shell Centennial Commemorative Stamps was one of the highlights of the Shell’s Centenary celebration.